Is Virginia a compulsory car insurance state? Can you drive in Virginia without auto insurance?

Most people are surprised to learn that Virginia is not a compulsory insurance state. This means that it is perfectly legal to drive a car in Virginia without any liability insurance at all – either for bodily injury or for property damage.

Most people believe that Virginia has a minimum auto policy requirement of $25,000. This is only partially true. A $25,000 liability for bodily injury (per person) is the lowest amount that you can purchase a Virginia car insurance policy for. However, if you pay $500 a year to the state’s Uninsured Motorist Fund, you do not have to purchase any insurance at all from GEICO, Allstate or Nationwide.

What does this mean for you?

It means you better protect yourself from the people out there trying to save money by not carrying liability insurance. You can do this by purchasing a decent amount of Uninsured or Underinsured motorist coverage on your own auto policy. Read our article on how to buy auto insurance in Virginia for more information.

Free Consultation

Please call us (703) 385-1100 or fill out the below form and we will respond shortly..

FAIRFAX PERSONAL INJURY LAWYER | VIRGINIA AUTO ACCIDENT ATTORNEY | VIRGINIA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY

At David Marks Law, we are devoted to achieving the best possible result for our clients in each and every case. Whether that means reaching an early settlement with the insurance company or taking your auto accident case all the way through a jury trial, we work with our clients to understand their wants and needs and to implement a plan to achieve those goals.